Iceberg Rose Shrub or Climbing

suzanne
contributor

Iceberg Rose Shrub or Climbing

22 Jul '08 6:02 am
I am very new to roses and was told the Iceberg Roses are very hardy and don't require all the upkeep as other roses. I recently purchased four 5 gallon iceberg climbing roses. I have had them for 3 weeks and I don't see any sign of them starting to climb. The are flowering great, however, they seem to be more like a shrub than a climber. Is there a way to tell, or do I just need to give them more time?

Thank you!

Suzanne

Dixie
garden enthusiast
Waikato-New Zealand

Icebergs

23 Jul '08 7:50 am
The first year Iceberg roses just sit around.Leave them as they are.The second year they will start to move.The thing is with Icebergs is not to prune them-just a general tidy,as if you cut them back too far they will revert to bush form-I found that out once.
I am sorry I do not know about the bees that are eating your Icebergs.(soapy water over the leaves to deter them perhaps?)
Dixie.

suzanne
contributor

Iceberg

24 Jul '08 6:38 am
Thank you so much for your reply. I will leave them be until next year (hopefully, they can withstand the bees)!!

Suzanne

Faith S
Perpetually learning gardener
Alabama, USA

Icebergs and bees

26 Jul '08 6:43 am
Hi Suzanne,