Jack Holloway
Passionate Gardener
SEQUOIA FARM Haenertsburg South Africa

A walk up the valley to other gardens

9 Oct '06 5:14 pm
In the late 70s when I was a student we discovered the neighbours’ gardens. Up till then our visits to the farm had been sporadic for various reasons, and neither my parents were keen hikers or gardeners. But we had heard of the Spring Fair (‘Cherry Blossom Time’) when Box Thompson’s amazing garden was opened to the public –se we wandered up to have a look. By then the immediate neighbours – on Cheerio – had gardened all the way down to the dam which filled the bottom point of their triangular property. We were greeted by crab apple avenues and thousands of azaleas. We passed through to the lower end of Box’s property: flowering cherry trees lined the valley. Then we reached her dam – and were captivated by the Japanese maples softly hugging the water. We did not yet know what they were… The overwhelming first impression was of the endless acres of azaleas. It was a cool damp spring, and there were many trees, mainly various blossomers, to shade them. It was spectacular – and crazy. ‘The woman is mad,’ my father said, ‘her whole farm has become a garden!’ Today we laugh guiltily at those words…