jacqueline
Thankful Gardener
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Help needed to ID this plant

27 Mar '06 5:35 pm
Hi everyone here. I'm a newbie and am very happy to be a member of your friendly and beautiful gardening community.

I truly need your help to ID this beautiful plant which was purchased from Cameron Highlands, Malaysia’s largest and best-known hill resort during my vacation there with my spouse last August. Its striking blooms of deep pink mixed against white looked so fragile and artificial yet very captivating amidst its green claw-like segmented leaves. Currently it’s still growing healthily but of course :) without flowers! I've managed to easily propagate many young plants from its segmented leaves, but unfortunately no new blooms yet. Patience!!

As garden enthusiasts, I'm sure all of you would understand the frustration of not knowing your plants' name, likes and dislikes which hinders us from giving them the best to make them happy and healthy! They're our children too, right!

Thus, I’d be most appreciative if someone here can ID it for me. Thanks in advance.[/img]
Copy of 497_9798.JPG
Lovely Pink Buds
Copy of 498_9803.JPG
Lovely Pink in full blooms

Dixie
garden enthusiast
Waikato-New Zealand

zygocactus

27 Mar '06 8:48 pm
Greetings jacq-cap .You have a beautiful zygocactus ,or zygote cactus. I typed zygocactus on google and found some photos on- flickr.com /photos. but they took so long to unload I gave up. Zygocactus come in all shades from palest pink to coral to red .
Please share with us about gardening in Kuala Lumpur -I should imagine you could grow many tropical varieties of plants .
Dixie.

jacqueline
Thankful Gardener
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

re: zygocactus or zygote cactus

27 Mar '06 9:28 pm