Greetings

SusanB
honoured contributor

Greetings

6 May '11 11:43 pm
Well silly me, I seem to have introduced myself in the wrong place! #-o
Good morning all, I'm Susan and I think it's fair to say I'm new here. I live just outside of the Washington DC area, zone 7b, and I've been playing in the dirt for less than 2 years now. I started off with Winter sowing and, as my first endeavor filled up one full 25-foot long bed, I absolutely fell in love with it. For now I've just been growing flowers, although my first attempt at tomatoes is awaiting a drink of water as we speak. (I'll give him a nip on my way out to work shortly). He would be in a half-whiskey barrel out front, by the way.
I've got 3 beds now, and a few large containers strewn about; annuals, perennials, schip laurels, assorted bulbs, and my beloved tomato seedling. Oh, and don't forget the yellow jasmin! :) (a gift from a beloved and departed previous neighbor, bless his warm loving soul).

Anyway, just wanted to say hello to everyone, and thank you Moosey for this fabulous place for soil-lovers to get together! =D>
There can be no other occupation like gardening
in which, if you were to creep up behind
someone at their work, you would find them smiling.
~ Mirabel Osler

MacFlax
Canberra, Australia

Re: Greetings

7 May '11 2:44 am
Hi Susan. I like your signature. :)

moosey
head gardener

7 May '11 12:52 pm
Susan,
Good to see you finally made it! I love your phrase
playing in the dirt
. That makes it still sound fun, which of course it jolly well should be after just two years! I think using containers is a brilliant way to protect things - for one, you don't lose what you planted in them. That's the theory anyway.